Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Questions About Japanese Junior High 2009/1/1 12:55
I'm making a manga that I'm currently studying Japanese culture for. It's a manga just for drawing practice and fun; I don't plan on using it for anything commercial, just something to do in my spare time. You could call it a hobby or a project.

However, I'm having trouble finding any information on middle school (junior high) life for Japanese students. The majority of my characters attend juinior high but most information I've found on the subject of education revolves around high school.

My main questions:

- I know that once a person enters junior high, the grade numbering starts over as 1-3 and a student's age can range from 12-15. Would a 14 year-old student usually be in Grade 2 in junior high?

- Do foreigners come last in roll call? Also, how would you write a Chinese foreigner's name? I know kanji and kana originates from Chinese script so I'm confused a bit.

- What are the subjects a person studies when in the grade my characters are in? (Again, age 14 is usually Grade 2, right?)

- I need general information on P.E. classes, as I've found only a bit of that.

(This one might be deviating from the subject a bit)