Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working Part Time; Visa Requirements 2009/1/11 16:18
Hello everyone,

I'm currently an English teacher in training and a part time musician / DJ and I'm hoping to land a job as an English teacher of some sort in Japan (as with the other 10,000 hopefuls) with the qualifications I will soon obtain.

My question is, would it be possible for me to engage in part-time remunerative musical activities such as DJ-ing or performing with a visa for teaching or would I need a separate one for that?

If I understand correctly, a ''Working Visa'' would allow me to do both. But then again, I'm a complete dunce with matters pertaining to immigration and such, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
by staticitch  

.. 2009/1/12 09:58
http://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/visa/04.html

"Working visa" comes in different categories - there is no general "work visa" that allows you to engage in any kind of paid work. if you get hired as an English teacher, your sponsor will apply for and obtain for you Instructor status so that you can work for them. But I suppose DJ would fall under... maybe Entertainer?
by AK (guest) rate this post as useful

Working Visa 2009/1/12 11:07
Staticitch,

My understanding is that, technically, if you have a working visa that allows you to teach, you are not really supposed to do other jobs (such as DJing). However, so long as you don't upset your sponsor, there's probably no real problem. Note that your sponsor may possibly include a clause in your contract that explicitly prohibits you from doing part-time work elsewhere, so make sure you read the fine print.

by (guest) (guest) rate this post as useful

contracts, visas 2009/1/12 12:39
Although some employers do include "no outside work" clauses, they are not legally enforceable.