Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Yoga translations please.. 2009/1/24 13:46
Hello,

I am a yoga teacher here in the U.S. and was just informed that there will be several Japanese students coming to my class fairly soon so I'd like to make them feel at home.

A friend recommended that I could ask for translations here as I have a few common phrases that I tend to use frequently.

Could somebody please help?

''Take a deep breath''

''Relax''

''Let the energy inside you flow freely''

''Focus''

''Focus on that energy''

''Focus on the energy flowing throughout your body''

''Feel that''

''Imagine a relaxing place''

''Imagine a beach''

''Imagine''

''Open yourself up''

''Open yourself up and completely let go''

by Yoga teacher (guest)  

Yoga phrases 2009/1/24 15:55
I teach yoga in Japan, so I can help you a bit here. One thing to start with is that this kind of abstract instruction does not always translate well into another language- when I teach classes in both English and Japanese I often have to use quite a different phrase in each language to express a similar idea.

"Feel that" for example- what are you wanting the students to do here exactly? Feel what, where? Do you mean focus on a particular feeling or feel it physically? Different verbs may be needed in Japanese in each case.

If trying to teach in a foreign language, I find it better to stick to simple and concrete instructions that can be easily understood.

Many Japanese teachers throw some English into their classes anyway, and most Japanese people are familiar with words for basic body parts and movements in English.

In any case, here are my translations for some of your phrases- some Japanese speakers may help out as well. If you are not familiar with Japanese pronunciation you might have trouble with some expressions.