Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Wrk in Jp(private tutor) Visitor visa 2009/2/5 10:32
Hi,
I am an IT pro, who is very interested in Japan. I am a permanant resident of USA (green card)and Sri Lankan citizen.
Is it possible to work in Japan as a private English tutor with travel visa? My English is at native(USA) level.

This way I can learn Japanese as well, and may be change my visa status later..

..any advice? thank you!!
by dave321  

... 2009/2/5 10:47
If by "travel visa" you mean Temporary Visitor Visa, the type you get when coming on a short-term sightseeing trip or for a short business trip, no, you cannot engage in any paid work while you are on that visa.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

90 days 2009/2/5 11:00
Even if you did try (which is illegal, as above), you only get 90 days in Japan as a tourist, so not enough time to find students, which can take a while, and most wouldn't want to start taking lessons from you knowing you would only be in Japan 90 days.
by Sira (guest) rate this post as useful

extend visitor visa to work visa 2009/2/5 13:18
ummm, i read somewhere that you can look for a job(private tutor etc.) with tour visa while you are in Japan, then go out of the country and get work visa. Is that true?
by dave321 rate this post as useful

... 2009/2/5 13:34
That is not "extend" but "change of status."

If, while you are on a "temporary visitor visa," you find an employer, that is. But I don't think private tutor (unless you get dispatched as a tutor by a company to teach many students) qualifies as a full-time employment for which the employer can sponsor you for a work-permitting visa such as "Instructor." Normally it's only for full-time employment that anyone would sponsor you for a visa.
by AK rate this post as useful

visa sponsor 2009/2/5 13:49