Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Move to Japan (in a hard situation) 2009/2/6 05:25
Hello everybody, I was reading some of the messages in this forum from people who want to move to Japan and I was quite fascinated with the response from the community.

Well, I also would love to live in Japan but my situation is kind of different to those of most people who want to do the same thing.

I'm 18 years old, I was born in a South American country and came to the United States when I was almost 16 (I'm a legal resident, not citizenship). Because I came here without knowing any English, it took me a while to get used to. Last year, I finished Junior year (High School) in the state of Washington and started my senior year after that.

The problem that I have is the fact that I need to take 4 years of english in order to graduate. I was supossed to graduate this year, but I'm not going to be able to do it because I only took 2 years of English (since I came in 2006). Right now (since January) I had nothing to do because the teachers at my school told me that I have to wait to get into a technical college (in April) in order to take the rest of the english classes and a 2 year college degree.

Anyway, my point is that right now, I feel quite bad about myself. My life is not as glamorous as I hoped it would be before coming to the U.S, so I was thinking about going to Japan--right now.

What would I do? I don't know, but I plan to go there and try to find a job (can I do it in my current situation?) also study (can I get into a high school and receive a diploma?) and learn the language (I know zero Japanese, except for maybe a few words).

What do you guys think I should do. How much money do I need. Please, recommend me the best because I seriously don't know what to do with my life.

Thanks.