Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working at Ekaiwa Should I Change Jobs? 2009/2/8 16:20
I'm currently working at an ekaiwa in Chiba.I've been here for 6 months and have finally figured out how to be an ok teacher after lots of trial and error.

Whats driving me crazy is, I have traveled nowhere and have essentailly made no friends. Mostly due to the fact I finish work at 9pm most days. Does anyone have any suggestions for a different job? Maybe being an ALT would be better. If anyone has been an ALT and worked at an ekaiwa please let me know if its any better. I'd really just like free time at night.

I've also considered being a PC tech here. I'm a pc consultant back in the USA, but I've got no idea where to start here.
by Mario (guest)  

language school or alt 2009/2/9 10:02
if you work as an alt you will have evenings off. you will work roughly 8.30 to 4.30 monday to friday.

you will also get longer holidays although these will often be at reduced pay

but certainly you will have evenings off and time to travel especially around august.

the downside is, you will be working in a very lonely and rigid bureaucracy.
by peter (guest) rate this post as useful

thanks 2009/2/9 12:51
Thanks for the advice. Currently my job isn't very rigid, but feels a bit lonely. Even though I work with other Americans and Canadians we don't have time to talk at work and some days I'm the only person in the office other than Japanese staff. Can you give any examples of how its a rigid bureaucracy?
by Mario (guest) rate this post as useful

i'm not sure what i mean 2009/2/13 23:42
hmmm. actually i'm not sure what i mean but my experience as an alt was very lonely. i had almost no interaction with the other (japanese) teachers.