Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Part-Time Jobs for students 2009/3/4 20:02
Hello everyone, I am currently living in Japan since September and I am having a very hard time when it comes to 'financial survival' here. The problem is that before coming here I heard it was so easy for foreign students to find a part-time job here as a way of helping them to pay their living expenses, but since I got here I am searching and found nothing but some students to which I tutor english and portuguese. I come from Portugal and know very little japanese (i am still learning the basic level at my japanese university) and seems like every work I find requires a knowledge of the language. My question is also related to those who are from many different nationalities and work here sometimes knowing nothing about japanese language... how does it happen? I desperately need to find a part-time job and thought maybe there are ways for me to work with portuguese language (teaching) besides some private tutoring, or even working in english in some bar/club... I know some students work that way and don't even need to speak japanese.
I live in Shinjuku so that won't be difficult to find something relatively close home...but although I am trying to learn japanese, the fact that I need a job asap is forcing me to choose from a limited range of options: jobs with no need of japanese language.

Can you help me with this? Thank you so much!
by ToxicEden  

TBH 2009/3/5 10:00