Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

obtaining visa to teach private 2009/3/17 17:04
I have found two websites that are a database for private tutors in Japan.

http://www.findateacher.net/

http://121sensei.com/

These sites allow one to post a profile to teach as a private tutor. I would like to do this. I live in the USA and I have a four year degree ( a bachelor of science degree in Computer Programming). But I know I need a work visa to do this legally. This website reports that, "A job offer in Japan is required to successfully apply for most types of working visas". So how can I get a visa to teach privately when a private teacher is basically self employed??? This website also states in another place: "It is possible to change your status of residence (e.g. from temporary visitor to instructor or from student to engineer) at an immigration bureau inside Japan." So based on this information I should be able to come to Japan as a temporary visitor, create a profile on one of the above mentioned websites, begin teaching private students and then get a work visa while in Japan?
by Joseph (guest)  

No can do 2009/3/17 17:33
Joseph,

The short answer is that you can't. You need a sponsor (i.e. employer) to get a working visa.
by Dave in Saitama (guest) rate this post as useful

No?? Then why.... 2009/3/17 18:30
Then why does this website say, ''It is possible to change your status of residence (e.g. from temporary visitor to instructor or from student to engineer) at an immigration bureau inside Japan''???
by Joseph (guest) rate this post as useful

Changing visas 2009/3/17 18:44
Joseph,

Then why does this website say, ''It is possible to change your status of residence (e.g. from temporary visitor to instructor or from student to engineer) at an immigration bureau inside Japan''???