Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Need suggestions for a 1-2 month stay 2009/3/21 10:59
I'm planning on living in Japan for 1-2 months this summer, and I was hoping to get some help with where to stay. I've heard about travel houses that look to be somewhere between a hostel and a real apartment (you get your own room, but there's a shared kitchen, and it's more expensive than a hostel). I'm not going for business and I don't have anything planned yet.

The purpose for the trip is that I've spent about 3 years studying Japanese in college, but I haven't gotten any real-world experience actually practicing it outside of the classroom. I'm also a photographer and would love to spend time shooting in Japan. So basically, my questions are:

What would be a good, private place to live for one or two months (for around 1,000USD or less a month)?

Does Tokyo or the surrounding area have much wildlife? I specialize in nature photography and I know there are densely forested parts of Japan with spectacular animals, but I'd like to live in or near a city.

Any suggestions on what to do for my time in Japan? I'd like to practice speaking Japanese as much as possible, and would also like to see/photograph a lot too.

Any information would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
by Steve (guest)  

... 2009/3/21 13:13
If you want to "live" in one place, you could try some place like this:
http://www.sakura-house.com/index.htm

As for things to do, if you have the budget, you can travel around Japan; that would get you to the remote corners with wildlife. To be honest, if you stayi in Tokyo, it would be a hassle to get out to places with wildlife, though. Or, if you want to stay in one place, maybe you could look around for a one-month intensive language course (offered by language school)?
by AK rate this post as useful