Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

teaching demonstration? 2009/3/27 15:24
Hello, I have a 4 year bachelor's degree and I am a native speaker of English. I have a applied for a company to teach English in Japan. No experience is required....and yet now they want me to give a 5 minute teaching demonstration to be considered for a teaching position! I have no problem speaking in front of people - the problem is I don't have a lesson plan. If I knew what to talk about and had an idea where to begin I would be fine. I have never taught before and I wish I had some sort of outline on what I should discuss or how I should go about this. Has anyone here given a teaching demonstration? What topics should one discuss for a teaching demonstration? Are there any helpful websites that would give me an idea on how to give a 5 minute teaching demonstration? Any helpful advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you.
by Joseph (guest)  

. 2009/3/28 15:20
The internet is chalk full of information on sample lesson plans, also check out dave's esl cafe for more information and advice.

http://forums.eslcafe.com/job/viewforum.php?f=11
by ExpressTrain (guest) rate this post as useful

5 minutes?? 2009/3/28 15:38
It would help if you could say what company or type of company/teaching (kids? Business? Conversation School?)

These 5 minute demos are a bit of an EFL joke. It doesn't show much serious intent on the company's part, so I wouldn't take it too seriously yourself.

I don't mean to not prepare and do a good job, mind you, just be aware of what it is and isn't.

It isn't a test of your teaching skill. You can't assess that in 5 minutes.