Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Worried about appearance 2009/5/16 10:33
Hi there, this is the first time i have ever used a web chatty thing so bear with me.

For the purposes of work I will soon be entering japan for around 6 months. I'm a barman by trade and I have enjoyed three years of travelling the world for free with a drinks company that uses me for promotional value. Its a brand of drinks using alternative styles for marketting and so have always used punks, metal heads and goths for photoshoots and in promotional placements.

I'm going to be working short shifts in lots of bars to promote the drinks. However i have become increasingly worried about my personal time while i am there.

You see the reason I was hired is purely because of my appearance, I am 6'9 (about 206 cm) I am litterally covered head to toe in tattoos and have several piercings.

When i say covered this includes everything from my hands, face and neck right the way to the soles of my feet, tongue, ears....etc etc

Being inspired by asian art in general alot of my tattoos are japanese themed, including dragons, koi and the kanji for slave and master under my right eye amongst other facial design work.

On top of this I have knee length hair (yes im male might be worth pointing that out) dyed numerous colours and metal capped teeth.

Note im not posting pictures im not here for attention rather genuine help.

I have done alot of this kind of work and travelling i have met mostly curiosity with very little fear or hate.

Then friends explained to me the whole historical context of tattoos in japan and now im terrified.

Believe it or not im incredibly gentle soul and i hate confrontation.