Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Difference between ji 2009/6/3 06:02
I'm a student learning japanese and I'm wondering if there is any difference at all between じ and ぢ. I know they are both read as ''ji'', but I'm not sure if there is anything specific about each one. Along with that, what would I be more likely to see, or are they essentially interchageable?

Sorry if this sounds like such a pointless question.
by Enzo (guest)  

... 2009/6/3 10:01
I think there are rules in when to use each of じ and ぢ.

It's normally supposed to be じ (so this would be the one you'll see more often).
ぢ is used only on limited cases, which would be:
- Sound becoming voiced from unvoiced because of two consonants coming together
(e. g. ちぢむ = to shrink)
- Sound changed from unvoiced to voiced because two words were joined together, and the original word contained ち.
(e. g. はなぢ = nose bleeding, from the words はな = nose, and ち = blood)

Apart from that, I would stay with じ.
by AK rate this post as useful

Exceptions that came to mind 2009/6/3 12:48
- There is one word that uses ぢ in defiance of the above rules: the one-syllable word ぢ, meaning, um, hemorrhoid. I suppose this is because it is related to ち, ("blood").

- Other than the "official" rules, people intentionally use ぢ instead of the correct じ at times to make some words look humorous, such as writing おやぢ instead of おやじ (referring to "middle-aged men," or those "men that behave like middle aged men").
by AK rate this post as useful

ji (じ) and di (ぢ) 2009/6/4 00:30
I found a good explanation on the web. Sorry in Japanese but see ;
detail.chiebukuro.yahoo.co.jp/qa/question_detail/q1011024030

Briefly explained as follows.

The rule has set by Japanese MOE since 20 years.

(1) Principle
Use "ji" (じ)

(2) Exception of (1)