Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

My plan to live in Japan 2009/6/27 04:33
My plan is to go to a language school for a year in early 2010. I noticed that school sessions are only 4 hours in a day. I want to utilize the remaining time I have out of school by taking a part-time job teaching English. Ifm 43 years old male from L.A. California. My profession is in the IT field. I have no college degree nor teaching experience. Since I donft have either one, Is it going to be hard to find an employer that would hire me? Ifm only at JLPT 3 level. Also, after six months of studying, My plan is also to look for a job in my field of profession. Are my chances very slim that an employer will petition/sponsor me and change my student visa to a working visa? This is my plan on how to emigrate myself to Japan without getting married to a Japanese national. Is this a not so smart idea? Do you have another plan you could suggest perhaps? By the way, I know the economy is soooo bad now and wonft see any big change until 3rd or 4th quarter of 2010. I just wanted your take on this. What would you do if you were me? Thanks.
by gokikenyo  

... 2009/6/28 14:49
- Those on Pre-college visa (language school) are allowed only up to 20 hours of work per week, and even for that, you need to ask for a separate permit from Immigration, and you need to wait at least a few months into your study even to apply (you need to maintain good grades and attendance).

- For doing part-time work on your Pre-college visa, you might have some chance as you have your Pre-college visa status already.