Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

After 10 years is it rude to 2009/7/29 14:24
My question is whether or not after ten years is it rude to contact my old families/friends (I was an exchange student) as I am planning a trip to Japan for a very short stay but would like to try and see a few of them. I don't want to be seen as rude. I have not kept in touch as I no longer speak Japanese (very little anyway).
What do you think?
by MichelleP (guest)  

Go for it! 2009/7/29 16:27
I see no reason why it should be rude. If you are concerned, you can appologize about not keeping in touch, but that shouldn't keep you from keeping in touch now!
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

. 2009/7/29 17:01
With all due respect to Japanese...

I have been dealing with, and living in, Japan for over 40 years, so I speak with some experience to back me up...

**I** have found that Japanese tend to make friends for a purpose (eg class mates, travel companions, home stays etc) but after that purpose ends so does the friendship. It seems to be considered "inappropriate" to "drag out the friendship for no reason" (you don't have to agree, but can you see my point?).

Not rude per se, just... not the norm. Anyway, this is what I have experienced, and research on the topic shows many supporters of this. Although, I'm sure it's not true about everybody.

With that in mind, I'm not sure what I would do in your situation. It'll be interesting to see what others write here.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

. 2009/7/29 23:53