Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Big in Japan 2009/7/30 04:48
I'm a student who will be studying near Tokyo for a year, soon. My issue is that I'm a plus-size woman (hovering around size 20 jeans, usually at least XL top) and I know my kind is scarce over there.

What can I do? Are there shops I should know of? Places to shop online that will ship internationally?
by Rianoux  

Torrid, Nissen 2009/7/30 17:05
First, to get an idea of your size in Japan, I'd recommend visiting Jshoppers.com. You should do your measurements and compare them to the one on the website. They sell Japanese clothing -- plus sized and regular sized to anyone OUTSIDE of Japan!

Two companies sell the most amount of plus sized items on Jshoppers: Nissen and Cecile. Nissen has a very nice online catalogue, but I don't know the Japanese website for it. I bet Cecile does too.

Other options include major department stores. I found a coat, a shirt, and some trousers in Isetan in shinjuku. Isetan is a very expensive store, but the customer service is fantastic, and I managed to get help by speaking only a few words of Japanese. I am a US 18 / UK 20 and they had plenty of sizes larger than me.

Good luck!
by MN (guest) rate this post as useful

coldwater creek 2009/7/31 20:55
coldwater creek sells your size and ships to japan
by my mama is so fat (guest) rate this post as useful

On the same boat 2009/8/3 00:40
Excellent info!

I am also a plus size woman who will be living in Japan for a while.
by mom to a princess (guest) rate this post as useful

being a broad 2009/8/3 21:32