Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Which town should I move to? 2009/8/2 05:08
A few years ago I studied a semester in Japan and I now plan to move back again on a "holiday working visa". But I'm not sure which town in Japan I should choose.
Learning Japanese is my main reason for going. I expect to attend a language school for 3-4 months and learn as much as possible. Therefore the town should have a decent language school.
I'm realistic regarding work and don't expect to find a job, but nevertheless I'll do some job-hunting. Perhaps I'm lucky. I have a Master's in multimedia and currently I'm working as a game designer mainly for the Nintendo DS and other handheld devices. I can't program or design, but I can develop concepts, evaluate other peoplefs work, manage projects etc. Therefore the town should have some technology/communication related companies.
At last the town shouldn't be too expensive to live in.
At first Tokyo seems to the logically choice because of the many things it has to offer, but I am not too fond of these mega cities. I have visited Fukuoka a few times and appreciated the big city life mixed with the close proximity of the more traditional country. But I have no idea how it compares to my kinda strict requirements.

To sum up:
Have you any experience/advice/suggestion for a town in Japan that has:
1. Good language schools.
2. Potential job opportunities in the communication sector.
3. As cheap as possibly to live in, or just not insanely expensive.
by sprutnik  

. 2009/8/2 11:58
I vote for Osaka. It's not too expensive there but you can always find cheaper accommodations outside the city but close by. Also I know that Nintendo has a office or factory by there I know an American who worked for them.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Osaka indeed 2009/8/2 12:04