Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How's Japan's economy these days? 2009/8/18 13:22
I have been applying for teaching jobs like mad for a couple of months now, but to no avail. I figure the economy is creating less demand for English teachers, especially without teaching experience and not currently residing in Japan.

I am curious how the Japan economy is looking now, and if anyone has any forecasts of how it might be in the next 12 months.

Is it a good idea to brave it and move to Japan without a job?
by Curious (guest)  

economy 2009/8/18 16:35
Unemployment is currently the highest it has ever been since WW2. There is talk that the economy has bottomed out, but there are no concrete signs of recovery yet and anyway no-one can say for sure. I know of companies where people are still being laid off. As for forecasting the economy 12 months in advance, no-one can do that- it's only guesswork.
by Sira (guest) rate this post as useful

Moving to Japan without a job? 2009/8/18 22:26
The BBC says that the Japanese economy is doing better. This is an article from yesterday: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8205072.stm

Here's another that says that most 2/3 of Japanese firms set to recover in 2010:
http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-bin/nn20090817a1.html

However, I think it might be difficult to move to Japan without a job if you don't have a visa...
by MN (guest) rate this post as useful

jp 2009/8/18 22:52
The economy improved ever so slightly because of massive government spending.
It doesn't affect the jobs unfortunately, there are still large job losses though nothing like what the US went through. Companies are going to be a lot more careful for the short term with their spending so job recovery will be a painful exercise that will last probably a few short years.