Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

No COE for Spouse Visa 2009/9/15 15:21
Please let me know if I can still be given a
Spouse Visa even without Certificate of Eligibility. I am legally married to a Japanese male national in the Philippines last February 2006, however, he was only able to register our marriage in Japan but he failed to secure my Certificate of Eligibility.As of this date and time, I have no idea where he is now and of his whereabouts. I have tried to reach him by pone by to no avail.I have been told by a Japanese friend that my husband is now in jail in Japan but I have no idea where in Japan. Now my question is, can I still be given a Spouse Visa even without COE?
Thanks for your responses in advance.
by jezzy888  

I am not a lawyer, but as far as I know 2009/9/15 19:29
Your earlier question was this one I believe:
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+66657

One way people from some countries could do is to come to Japan on a visitor visa first (but to come to Japan even for a short term, Philippine nationals do need to apply for a visitor visa in advance, with some help from a ''guarantor'' in Japan who invites you to come) and then apply for a change of status to Spouse of Japanese national visa (but without your husband's help you will not be able to apply for the change, I believe). I'm sorry to say but your chances don't look good. Spouse visa is given so that couples can stay together, so it would be best to find the whereabout of your husband first.
by AK rate this post as useful

. 2009/9/15 20:00
I am legally married to a Japanese male national in the Philippines last February 2006, however, he was only able to register our marriage in Japan but he failed to secure my Certificate of Eligibility.