Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Am I forgetting somthing? 2009/9/20 20:17
Hey Guys,

I'm a 19 year old University student studying Film and Arts whose decided to take a year off school to travel. I'm getting a working holiday visa and going to Japan late March - early April 2010. I plan on staying for about six months, then moving onto China/Korea.

I have around 5 years Japanese experience, but would still consider myself at quite a poor level. (probably slightly higher than JLPT 4) regardless of this I am confident, and survived over there with less skills on a two week trip, two years ago.

I plan on combining WWOOF (willing workers on organic farms), Couch surfer and a some friends over there for the first few months accommodation then seeing what happens from there. I'll have around 350,000 yen after flights.

Do you think these are reliable forms of accommodation (wwoof and couch surfer) or should i plan more for hostels etc?

is 350,000 Enough money? obviously will be looking for work, hopefully economy will turn around, but i will be leaving very cheaply which I guess is part of the charm.

I haven't planned too much in detail, but it's all part of the adventure :)

Thanks a lot for any advice you guys have to offer.
by Cat Stevens (guest)  

Yes 2009/9/21 23:41
An 'e'.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Exxhange your service for room & board 2009/9/22 06:50
Many years ago my friend left Japan and traveled around the world. He exchanged his electronic talents for meals & place to stay, plus earned some money. He also was willing to live in country rather than in the major city as most foreigner would do, and partake in their meals. Money he carried with him wasn't much but he was frugal & enterprising. You sound like him, so have a great times.
by EichoKago rate this post as useful