Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Sell up and move to Japan or wait? 2009/9/22 07:34
My husband and I would like to live in Japan, for at least one year. I have 12 years teaching experience and Masters' level qualifications in education. My husband has diploma level quals in Graphic Design. Neither of us speak Japanese.

Ideally I'd like to teach in an International School, or somewhere that pays enough for us to live and for me to support my husband (who I understand will probably struggle to find any work without a degree). He will probably study full time while we are there via distance ed.

My question (one of many)...do I apply to all international schools and wait to be accepted until moving over, or do we sell up and move without any job, and apply for jobs once there? I'm willing to work as an English teacher until the right job comes up but will need to earn enough for two (and the small doggy that will accompany us).

Advice?? Please!! Selling our home and moving will be a huge deal, but if it is the best way to go we will consider it...
Thank you!!
by KayC (guest)  

. 2009/9/22 11:03
You need a employer to sponser you for a visa. You can't just move to Japan and look for a job.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Rely on common sense 2009/9/22 13:26
First secure a teaching contract while you are here, then, visit Japan and get the feel of their country. Cost of living in Japan will depend on where you will settle and be prepare to pay atronomical price if you are to purchase a home. It would be foolish to sell your home now or in next few years since your security & welfare is not guaranteed.
by EichoKago rate this post as useful

... 2009/9/22 13:43