Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Finding Work once in Japan-Gifu 2009/9/25 14:52
Hello all of you who are already in Japan and have the down low....

I am moving From Canada to Japan this November 4th to be with my partner, who is a Japanese national. I am hoping to find some work teaching English in Mino Kamo, Gifu (about an hour from Nagoya). I have over three years of ESL instructing experience and TESOL diploma so am quite qualified so think that I should be able to get a job if I can find one, which leads me to my questions:

1. How difficult will it be to find a job just landing in Japan looking for one? I have been trying to apply from Canada but have found that a lot of schools don't post jobs independently, but rather use recruiting agencies. So I am also trying to apply for work through an agency but fear they may just try and dictate my working location, in which case I would decline. So do you think I will be hunting a long time to find something once I arrive?

2. I am coming with a working holiday visa, but am very happy to get a sponsored visa as well, but I get the feeling that a lot of schools don't like to hire teachers with just a WHV. Have you found that to be the case?

3. Any additional tips or advice on job hunting pre and post departure? It would be ideal to set something up before I land, but if am not able to would like to be ''on the ground running'' once I arrive in hopes of finding something quickly.

Any information or advice you can give me on this would be SOOO greatly appreciated!

Thank-you!
by kbloom99  

Gifu 2009/9/25 15:28
(1)