Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Anime recommendations for school club? 2009/10/11 07:10
I'm a Canadian elementary school teacher who used to live in Japan many years ago. Our school is starting up 30-minute weekly club activities and I've been asked to start up a Japan Anime Club as such characters (Pokemon, Inuyasha, etc...) are popular in our school and I've had experience in Japan.

Good idea. Only thing is, I've never really been into anime and I don't know any good shows that elementary-age students would like and that's school-appropriate. I'm hoping to get some suggestions from the Japan-Guide readers.

Thank you!
by Canadian teacher (guest)  

hmm anime in elementary school? 2009/10/11 14:21
Ahhh that's actually risky business.
You'll have to be sure to mostly use on the editied versions like the ones from 4kids. I know for one thing a lot of shows for kids also cater to adults and so they tend to have some things that may not be appropriate. Namely stuff like Dragonball. I love that show and the manga but man if my parents knew what I was reading when I was 8 years old...
So yeah going off of my younger cousin's(he is 9) likes
i suggest :
4kids version of pokemon
Beyblade
Yu-gi-oh
Pretty cure
Naruto -edited down version but still has some minor perverted parts
that's all I can think of that would be okay at schools. I'm sure other people will have even more and better suggestions
by Kitsuneakitsune rate this post as useful

Miyazaki and Tezuka 2009/10/11 18:35
You should ask your students for recommendations. Other than that, on the more "all-generation/maestro" side, the works of Hayao Miyazaki are a must for teachers. In particular, "Sen to Chihiro no kamikakushi" has won an Oscar. Then if you want to explore further, the late Osamu Tezuka is the father of animation in Japan.