Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japanese music 2009/10/22 10:38
Hello! I am a music student in America and I would love to know where I could find an abundance of Japanese traditional and Enka music.

Is there a major city that has a strong influence for this type of music? Any suggestions for performance halls etc? I would assume Kyoto?
by Jesen  

? 2009/10/22 16:49
"Traditional" Japanese music and enka are two different things. Enka is a relatively new genre that is said to have been born in the end of the 19th century. What enka is to Japan is quite similar to what country music is to the U.S.

When we say "traditional Japanese music" it usually means more classical things such as gagaku (ancient court music), min-yo (folk music) or the like. Needless to say, there is an original type of folk music for every region throughout Japan.

Kyoto is the old capitol, so I suppose it's a good place to seek gagaku. But of course, you can't find much Tohoku folk music or Okinawan folk music there, and both of these are very popular among the min-yo genre.

Do you have a specific musician or a piece of music that you like? If so, post them and someone may be able to post a better suggestion.
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

. 2009/10/22 22:04
Thanks for your response. I know the differences. I just want to know a city or venue that I can experience all of this music and get an overall feel or understanding of pre-WWII music. From traditional all the way up to Enka.
by Jesen rate this post as useful

Enka and Minyo 2009/10/23 09:01
Uco has it covered well. Wikipedia on the internet has a very good article on Enka. Enka is popular in Korea also but is called Trot.