Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Jobs in the Tourism Industry 2009/10/23 12:43
Hi. I would like to know if anyone is aware of job opportunities in Japan in or related to the tourism industry, such as translation, guides, etc.

Everyone keeps saying, ''If you do JET, you can find these types of jobs while you are there.'' but they always assume that you will get into JET. That's not a guarantee, though, and I'd like to know other options.

I have a university degree and such, and my Japanese abilities are decent. (I know ''decent'' is a subjective term, but if you know of opportunities that require ''fluency'' or something, please just list them. I can always sort out which are beyond my level and which are okay, if I need to.)

Anyways, I am basically just curious about job opportunities beyond JET, but I do have an interest in the tourism industry.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
by Damien (guest)  

hotel 2009/10/24 08:05
Maybe you could work at one of the international chain hotels in your city, then get a transfer to Japan when there's an opening. However, the hotel business is doing poorly in Japan right now.
by Kato (guest) rate this post as useful

If you love serving others 2009/10/24 08:54
Whatever the industry, translation and tour-guiding requires experience, but if you can prove that you are bilingual, tough and patient, it is not at all impossible to be hired by hotels and other service related jobs aimed for tourists. At hotels for example, you will typically start as a bellboy/girl and move your way up. But keep in mind that almost all tourism industry jobs are very tough, physically, mentally and financially.