Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Immersion Course in Japan 2009/10/26 11:49
I'm currently considering studying Japanese via an immersion course. I've been studying Japanese since 2003 and I think that now would be a good time to consider an immersion course to further refine my abilities.

Should I study via language school in Japan (e.g., Sendai Language School), or should I try a homestay program with a Japanese family?

Also, are there certain procedures and precautions (apart from immigration control documents) that must be observed before I sign up for an immersion course? I heard that these immersion courses can last up to 24 months, so living arrangements and (probably) part-time employment might factor in as well. Much obliged in advance.
by ippatsu  

... 2009/10/26 17:34
I don't know what kind of studies you have done so far (school, private lessons, or self-study), but I recommend structured classroom lessons at some point in your learning, so if you are considering to come to Japan, I suggest attending a full-time school. When they say full-time, that would be about 4 - 5 hours a day of lessond, 5 days a week. Some schools have short-term/intensive courses (depending on your current proficiency of course) from 1 month, 3 months maybe, then one-year, a year and a half, or two years' courses for those who want to prepare themselves to attend a Japanese university later.

If you enrol in a full-time course at one of the accredited schools, you will be eligible for Pre-college student visa, under which you can engage in part-time work up to a certain number of hours/week, though this requires a separate permit from Immigration and requires good attendance and grades :)
by AK rate this post as useful

@AK 2009/10/27 00:46
Thank you for the reply.