Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Massage Therapist wants to move 2009/11/5 05:39
Unlike most of the other posts I have been reading I am not a 14 year old with hopes of moving to Japan. I'm 23 and feel a little hopeless.
I have friends in the military moving to Japan this coming summer and have offered me a place to stay. Only being able to speak survival japanese and the fact that I never went to university seems to limit my visa abilities. I'm a massage therapist and have my certification but that doesn't qualify me for much seeing as how I was informed that Japan doesn't require you to be licensed. I live in the U.S. but love to move around and have always thought of Japan as the ultimate destination. I'm ready to leave the U.S.!

Any information or comments are greatly welcomed.

-Nichole
by Ms Nitch  

BLUNTLY SPEAKING... 2009/11/5 10:44
With a limited viable job skills, without the degree, and not fluent in language spells only as a tourist.
by stanfordgal rate this post as useful

Visa issues 2009/11/5 10:55
People without degrees don't have too many options. One is to become a full time student, but this takes a lot of money for the fees and living costs. Another is to be married to a Japanese national, obviously not something likely to happen soon in your case. Ten years experience in the field you wish to work in and the offer of a job can qualify you for a work visa if you don't have a degree- also not applicable in your case.

Most countries require that you have a certain level of education or have skills that are in demand before they will issue you a working visa, so it seems that your only option would be to go to college and get a degree. There is definitely no shortage of Japanese massage therapists here- I know lots.