Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

I want to teach in Japan (not english) 2010/1/7 16:40
I understand that I will have to be very fluent in Japanese, but after that what do I need? I have a Bachelors in Biology and I want to teach it in Japan. Should I certify to be a teacher here and then look for jobs or should I try to get certified over there?

I would also like to know how easy it is to get accepted into a graduate program over there (again, as long as I am fluent in Japanese). I would like to get a graduate degree along with my wife who is a Psychology Bachelor.
by Devin (guest)  

Stay Home 2010/1/7 21:38
For a teaching position in both countries you will need the credentials.. getting credential in the home country would be expedient versus learning the foreign language and becoming adequately competent to take the Japanese teacher's exams. However the home country credentials is just that.

Alternatively, most foreigner will begin their career in Japan as an English teacher, and enroll in the language class during the off hours. Question is, is it worth the expenses of doing all that versus your potential career earnings at home. An average English instructors earning are in the range of US $16 - 20 before the deductibles as taxes, health insurance, and pensions.

Alternatively,lets explore your options. (1) It's possible to find a work with the bio-tech or bio-health company in your home country. Look for company with a subsidiary branch in Japan, and after several years ask for a intra-transfer.

No matter which avenue you choose you will need a worker's visa for a extended stay in Japan. One of you must be sponsored by the employer, other can be a spouse dependent.
by stanfordgal rate this post as useful

international schools the best bet 2010/1/7 22:11