Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What's Japan's IT market outlook? 2010/1/15 14:05
Hello! I have professional interests in Japan, namely in the IT field. Does anyone know how much demand there is for intermediate or advanced level IT people?

If there is any information on the outlook for Japan's IT market, especially in the field of Network Technology or Security, please contact me with the details.

Thank you!
by Arpad (guest)  

Hi 2010/1/16 09:16
From what I've heard it's not great. How much experience do you have? And do you know Japanese and can/or have passed JLPT 1? I'm gonna be going to study in March for about 15-18 months and try to get as fluent as I can be. I've got about a 1 1/2 years programming experience. I don't expect to find anything but I will try. Most of the IT jobs out there are gonna want 3-5 years+ experience and solid Japanese.
by Arbel rate this post as useful

Nothing like before 2010/1/16 13:02
Arbel is very right. Two years ago there was such a demand for IT people that Japanese skills weren't so important, but since the crash there are far fewer jobs and the vast majority of employers want people who have at least business-level Japanese at the time of interviewing.
by Sira (guest) rate this post as useful

When I go 2010/1/17 13:44
When I arrive, I hope to have about 3 years worth of experience. More than anything, I will, by that time, have a plethora of certifications to go with it.

I plan on going into network administration and related technologies, with an aim to specialize in network and information security.

In 3 years time, given proper practice, my Japanese language skills should not be an issue, as I have had prior experience with the language before and am simply out of practice.