Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Part time work in Japan 2010/1/21 01:17
Hi there people.

Right, basically, I'm wanting to move to Japan. I have no degree, but I'm very well educated. I'm going in March or April on a working holiday visa (UK citizen). I'm hoping to gain sponsorship in some field or other by the end of my year there, and remain thereafter.
I figured that, since my English is good, and I have some experience of teaching it conversationally (though no formal qualification), the easiest thing to do when I get there is teach English. However, I don't really want to do that, certainly not full time. I'd like to do that part time and mix it up with some other work (though I don't know quite what). [How easy is this to do?]
I'd then like to get sponsored to live and work doing whatever it is besides teaching. Something like DJing, fashion stuff, business... God knows what, just something a bit different, preferably in the public eye. I figure Japan's the place to do that, especially due to the special treatment I receive being a lovely young gaijin.

So I'm really just wanting some general opinions and observations from people who know their stuff. Am I a hopeless dreamer? Or is my lack of specificity actually opening up more opportunities? I guess you need to know me to know how realistic this all is, but I'm certainly confident in my own ability to succeed.
Do people succeed in this kind of thing often?

I know I've been very vague, but whatever you have to say will be most appreciated.

Thanks.
by Momo (guest)  

Dream on 2010/1/21 12:10