Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Going to Japan without a job, stupid? 2010/3/2 11:16
Hi Everyone,

Question: I really want to live in Kyoto. A few people have told me to get a work visa here in Canada, and then job search on the ground.

**Most schools dont want to deal with your visa.
**I can be there to see/check the school/conditions/curriculum.

AM I STUPID? Going to Japan without a solid job?

I have 4 years experience in ESL, A TESOL certification, worked in 3 countries, and a 4 year degree.

THANKS!

Joel.
by JOel (guest)  

Job? 2010/3/2 12:58
As far as I know, you can't get a work visa for Japan without having already lined up a job, with a sponsor.

The exception for work is a Working Holiday visa, which is not the same as a Work Visa.
by Sandy (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2010/3/2 13:13
If you are a Canadian, you should look into Working Holiday Visa (different from "work visa"). If you qualify (in terms of age and place of residence before you apply), that probably would be the easiest way to stay in Japan and stay/travel in Japan for 6 months or one year, while having a way to earn some pocket money at least.

With your experience in English language teaching it's likely you might eventually find an employer who want to hire you and sponsor you for a work visa (yes you need a candidate employer before the work visa application process can start), but with the current economy it might not come that quickly. In any case, you should come with some savings so that you can stay financially OK for a few months.
by AK rate this post as useful

wrong order 2010/3/2 14:57