Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Dependent visa 2010/3/18 11:26
Hello everyone,
My boyfriend and I are here in Japan under a pre-college student visa. I've found a teaching job very far from the city I am currently studying, so I have to move and would like my boyfriend to come with me. I will change my status from pre-college student to worker, is there any possibility for my boyfriend to come with me? I mean can we marry here in Japan and can he obtain a dependent visa without leaving the country? I have searched the Mofa website but cannot find anything. Thank you very much for your reply!
by Nabiki (guest)  

. 2010/3/18 13:07
If he was your husband you might be able to get one. Though I believe you need to show financial papers and show his dependency on you, though I'm not sure of the specifics.

If he were just your boyfriend, then no. You two would have to be married first.
by ExpressTrain (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2010/3/18 13:46
I don't know which country you are from, but if you have the documents with you that you might need to get married, get married, and then you get one of the work-permitting visas, yes, then he can apply to change to Dependent status.

To change to Dependent status, I believe you do need documents like the marriage certificate and your employment contract (evidencing your financial means); if you are in the second year of your contract, they ask for statement of tax payment for the previous year.

If you have been on Pre-college visa, that means both of you, maybe, have been studying the Japanese language? He will not be looking for another school in the new city to pursue studying the language?