Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Options for staying in Japan? 2010/3/19 08:46
My friend and I would like to stay in Japan for an extended period of time.....

My friend has a BACHELORs DEGREE and is currently seeking work in Tokyo.

I, on the other hand.. don't have any college degree and from what I've read (everywhere) I wont be able to work or stay longer than 90 days (on a tourist visa).

Is there any way possible for me to stay??

OR obtain a work visa without a degree?? I've been told so many different things from soo many people..

Some say I can just go on a tourist visa, find a job there (anywhere) then apply for a work visa..

Others say unless I have a bachelor's- no luck- and can't change from a tourist to a work visa unless I returned to my home country first.....

So what's the honest truth??!

What should I do??

OR what about a dependent visa??

Although, my friend is a female and I'm a male ..we're not dating?? or married??

PS-
We're coming from the US.
by Davy (guest)  

visa 2010/3/19 10:04
Is there any way possible for me to stay??

Your current long term options are very few. Realistically, unless you have many years of work experience in a desirable field then your only real option would be a student visa. Note that studying in Japan is expensive.

OR obtain a work visa without a degree??

If you have many years experience in a field, say a few years teaching english in the US, then that may qualify you for a work visa to teach english. The number of years varies by job and has to be in a related field to whatever job you are looking for.

Some say I can just go on a tourist visa, find a job there (anywhere) then apply for a work visa..

Yes, assuming you can qualify for a work visa. Without that bachelor's degree or many years experience though you don't qualify.