Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Electronic Dictionaries versus PDA 2010/3/22 09:14
hello,

I am studying Japanese in Australia.
I need to buy an electronic dictinionary and was looking at wither:

- casio Ex-Word XD-A9800 or older model (for cost)

or

- Canon WordTank V320 or V330

or

- one of the Axim PDA's availabel from the Japanese Language Tools (JLT) website (http:www.japaneselanguagetools.com).

Any comments or advice.
There are a number fo threads about electronic dictionaries but really interested in some comments about the PDA offerings from Japanese Language Tools.

Note:

- I do not mind the japanese-only menus on thr Casio, although it may take me longer to learn it. Can always ask a friend for some help.

- the kanji input is easier/more forgiving, i believe on the Canon WordTank. but not sure what the difference is.

- I believe the PDA option from JLT is relatively easy to use, although may be a bit slower to use as it is not dedicated to the task, being a PDA with software installed.

- don't really need a PDA for anything, although maybe the GPS on the axim (with suitable GPS attachment) may be useful.

maybe someone has used both the PDA and an electronic dictionary?

thanks in advance
by DJjapan  

Denshijisho 2010/3/28 11:19
Hi,

I bought a Casio XD-GF9800 (one of the top models) last year. Guess what: this is one of the best thing's I've ever bought. It's amazing, especially the kanji recognition (stroke order doesn't matter).

It cost me some 30-something thousand yen, but the reason I bought it over a Y16 000 model is that I needed both Japanese and English dictionaries (and this thing has Oxford Thesaurus, Advanced Learner's Dictionary, Dictionary of English... you get the idea). The cheaper models only have Oxford's Advanced Learner's Dictionary, as far as I know.