Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Best way to be able to move to japan 2010/3/29 09:00
So I am currently 23, and am wanting to move to japan. I have been doing a lot of research and teaching english ''SEEMS'' to be really the only way. Lets Japan forum seems really negative on the whole teaching in japan thing. So I am looking for unbiased info that gives the good and the bad.

And even if teaching is tight, what if I got a degree in speaking japaneses and moved over there. Would that open the door to more possibilites?

I would like to teach, but if there is other things are fine also. The money to move there isn't going to be a problem. I could have enough money saved up to survive for half a year or more. I do not plan on going for another couple years.

Thanks for any replies.

Cheers
by Clandest (guest)  

Degree 2010/3/30 06:25
Do you already have a 4 year degree? If not, start working on it. A degree in Japanese Language definately would not hurt, it would most likely be a big bonus. But if you havent started yet, you have 4 years to work out all the other details!
by cf (guest) rate this post as useful

first the degree 2010/3/30 07:48
You will need a bachelor's degree just to get a working visa here, so that's the first thing to think about if you haven't graduated university. If you want to do something other than teaching, a degree in Japanese only isn't going to be all that helpful- most other jobs for non-Japanese here are in the finance and IT fields, so you will need skills and qualifications in those areas if you want that kind of job.