Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

ga and wa in sentences 2010/4/14 03:00
hi all, i am new to japan, confused with ga and wa, i hereby seek advice from you guys.
にほんのどうぶつえんにはpandaがいます。why wa is used? can i omit wa?

このきょしつにせんせいはいますか。may i know what does this sentence mean? did i write it wrongly?

your help is greatly appreciated! many many thanks!!
by Claire (guest)  

. 2010/4/14 14:01
にほんのどうぶつえんにはpandaがいます。
You could drop は but it makes more definite that there are pandas in the Japanese zoos.

このきょしつにせんせいはいますか should be このきょうしつにせんせいはいますか=Is there a teacher in this class room?
by ay (guest) rate this post as useful

thanks 2010/4/14 15:18
hi ay, noted your reply with much appreciation! thanks for the correction, i didn't even realize that at all! so for the reply for is there a teacher in the classroom, is it alright the answer to be,"はい、このきょうしつにせんせいはひとりいます。" or "はい、このきょうしつにせんせいはいます。"

can i use ga instead of wa? like this - このきょうしつにせんせいがいますか。

わたしのはなやにはいろいろなはながあります。is いろいろ a な adjective, that's why has to a な behind? the は was there because it wants to emphasize there are many kinds of flowers in the flower shop?

many thanks!!!!
by Claire (guest) rate this post as useful

ga and wa 2010/4/15 07:21
Sorry I can't type in Japanese, I'm on my work computer.

If you're new to Japanese, I would not stress out initially over "wa" and "ga" the different uses can be very nuanced

While it's ok to leave them out of sentences, omitting them from you vocabulary entirely would be highly inadvisable.