Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Study Abroad... Where to buy a camera? 2010/5/2 13:10
Hello everyone!

So next year will be my senior year of high school, and I'm studying abroad in Japan starting in August and coming back in July of next year. So I'm probably gonna want a camera to take pictures/videos and etc.

The camera my parents currently has sucks, about 9-7 pictures and (fresh disposable) batteries are dead (for whatever reason I can get a lot more pictures with rechargeable batteries). It also is incredible bulky and annoying to carry around.

To be specific it's the Kodak Easyshare Z650...
http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-cameras/kodak-easyshare-z650/4505-6501...;lst

I'm definitely not going to bring that with me...

So to start the kind of camera I'm looking for is ''decently'' priced, can last a long time on batteries (preferably has a built in rechargeable battery), is NOT bulky like the one above, and still has decent picture and video quality.

If you have any recommendations fire away and I'll look into it.

The real question here is, USA vs. Japan which place should I buy camera X from. I mean more specifically which is going to be cheaper?

I've heard Akihabara is going to be very cheap, but I've also heard that the US can be cheap too.

NOT BUYING DURING CHRISTMAS or ''THE HOLIDAY'S''!

Please and thanks for any and all help,

Derek

by DemonicDerek (guest)  

fujiya 2010/5/3 05:50
go to fujiya camera in nakano ku when you arrive in tokyo and buy a small used compact from them. i bought one a few months ago for around 6000yen (70) and it was a fantastic camera (i gave it to someone as a traveling gift, i have tons of cameras, film and digital, already)
by winterwolf rate this post as useful

Why no shopping at Christmas? 2010/5/4 07:53