Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Teach English in Japan w/o degree, etc? 2010/5/4 14:29
Hello. I am an ESL tutor in here the US. I am an American citizen, but I have lived most of my life overseas, so working with ESL students is second nature to me.

I want to teach ESL in Japan. So far, I've found I might be too young, and I don't have a degree(yet). Do I REALLY need a bachelor's degree and to be over a certain age? Is there anywhere I can get hired in Japan without these requirements?

Please, forgive my ignorance, I lack knowledge in this matter, which is why I ask.

Thank you. ~Kaley
by Kaley (guest)  

... 2010/5/6 10:59
To be eligible for a work visa (which your employer will sponsor you for), the immigration requirement is either: a bachelor's degree, or several years of work experience in the relevant field. The latter means if you want to teach English, you need to have at least several years (I have heard 3 years fo English teaching) of English teaching experience already. Do you have more experience (full time) than that?

The rest is whether you interview well with the potential employer. But considering how the English teaching industry (English conversation schools at least) are doing badly in Japan currently, and that one such company has just gone out of business recently, the hiring situation might not be easy for newcomers to Japan.

Please search through this forum for other threads of similar nature.
by AK rate this post as useful

ESL 2010/5/6 11:26
As AK says, this topic comes up here regularly, as well as on other living in Japan/ESL sites, so do plenty of checking.