Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Sophia University: GPA or SAT? 2010/5/5 03:37
Hello!

I'm a high school student in Georgia, about a month or so away from graduating. My dream is to get accepted into Sophia University.

BUT

My grades are, say, TERRIBLE. I came into high school with a bare minimum knowledge of English not to land me in a English as a Second Language Class, although that is no excuse for my lazy behavior. Drum-roll please? ....A 2.5 GPA. Ugh. Ugh! I know! I'm a horrible loser at life :(

However, I studied my back-side off for the SATs and scored a solid 1600 (still not great, but whatever). I have a firm grip on Japanese (I have a six-grade writing level for kanji...and better for reading and speaking). I attended a Japanese school from 3rd to 5th grade. I can write mind-blowing English essays, and have three good recommendation letters from my kind teachers (whos classes I did well in).

My mother's also purely Japanese, while my father's American. My grandparents live in Yokohama.

I am very, very doubtful of where I stand write now. The application IS near $300, and I was wondering if I had even the slightest shot at getting in, or if I was just wasting my time or money.

Also, I was wondering if taking the TOEFL would increase my chances....

So what do you say? Should I give it a shot?

by Sayabean (guest)  

questions? 2010/5/6 14:29
Is that your combined total score? How does it break down in the three sections? What do you plan on majoring in? Why do you want to go to Sophia?

by Tilt (guest) rate this post as useful

Research first. 2010/5/12 12:21