Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Speaking Japanese to students 2010/7/15 19:10
I've been in Japan for about 3 years. I worked in an eikaiwa for one year and then at a junior high school for about 2 years in Tokyo. At the eikaiwa I was told to use no Japanese at all. At the school I was told to use about 99 percent English with maybe a word or two of Japanese here and there. That worked in my last school but not at my current one.

I changed schools and moved to a small town out in Yamanashi. Many of the kids here absolutely have zero interest in learning English. They want to talk to me, but not in English, not even a little bit. Some kids actually avoid me just because they don't want to have to speak in English.

I've been studying Japanese for over 3 years and am close to level 2 of the JLPT. I can understand almost everything the kids say and can talk to them for hours on end if I really wanted to, which I do.

However, The teachers keep giving me conflicting advice. Some want me to speak mostly English with a little Japanese here and there. Others want me to speak a mix of 50/50 English/Japanese to help make the kids feel more comfortable while at the same time having to hear at least a little English. The rest don't seem to care what I do.

This is very confusing for me. I don't like having restrictions and trying to keep a balance between and mix Japanese is way too difficult for me. If a student asks me a complicated or difficult question in Japanese, I feel answering it in Japanese is best because they most likely won't understand a long explanation in English. The problem with that is that once I start speaking to students in Japanese, most aren't going to even bother trying to say something to me in English if they know I will understand it in Japanese.