Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working from Home - Visa Required? 2010/7/20 18:24
Hello,

I am 24 years old. I work full-time from home as a game developer / artist / web developer / freelancer, and would like to move to Japan. Will I be required to obtain a work visa for this or how should I go about handling something of this nature. I do all of my work at home and generally acquire contract jobs and sell my games via email or forums. I have been doing this full-time for a few years now, and I do not have a university degree (I read somewhere that one is required for a work visa).

Thanks in advance!
by Anderu  

Freelance work and visa issues 2010/7/21 10:18
Anderu,

Will I be required to obtain a work visa for this or how should I go about handling something of this nature.

Yes, you will need a Work Visa (or other visa that permits work) to engage in any paid activity. And as you require a sponsor (employer) for a work visa, freelance work is generally not an option for people when they first move to Japan.

I do not have a university degree (I read somewhere that one is required for a work visa).

Unfortunately, that will make it very difficult (i.e. pretty much impossible) to find visa sponsorship in Japan.
by Dave in Saitama (guest) rate this post as useful

‚ ‚肪‚Æ‚¤ 2010/7/21 10:46
Just as I feared. It looks as though I'll have to get a degree then. That, or get married. ;)

Thank you for the response Dave.
by Anderu rate this post as useful

. 2010/7/21 11:29
How would they know whether he's working or not?
----------
Aside from that, how do you plan on staying in Japan long term? What visa did you plan on getting? Only work?