Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

translating kanji-less script and kono watashi 2010/8/13 07:19
OK, I have been searching around the Internet for a place to ask this and this seems like the friendliest community I've found so far. (And I apologize in advance for this message's length.)

Anyway, I'm a college student and I have taken a few semesters of Japanese and have studied abroad in Japan for one semester, continuing to study Japanese there too. (Though that was two years ago...)

I still watch Japanese TV shows and animation and also play some games in Japanese to keep my mind somewhat refreshed when I don't have anybody to speak Japanese with. One thing I've seen and heard that I don't quite understand is:

この私

''This me''? That way I've seen it used is simply another way of saying ''私'', though saying it in sort of a more pompous way, sort of like オレ様、though not as forceful. So, is that how it is used or am I wrong?

As for the small amount of kanji-less script, it comes from a game that has some dialogue in it. (The first game I've played in Japanese with this much script.) I can understand most of what is going on, though I need to consult a dictionary sometimes.

Now then, this is the script I am having trouble with. (Having a little bit of kanji thrown in it would have helped a lot.) This occurs right after one of the main villains in the game (but not the final boss) has been defeated with the Starlight spell, just to set the context. This ガーネフ character is also an old man, so he also talks like one, at least with わし。

【ガーネフ】
「ぐ・・・・・・
 スターライトとは・・・
 ぬかったわ・・・
 だが おぼえておくがよい
 たとえ このわしが しのうとも
 そのていどの ちからでは
 メディウスは たおせぬ・・・
 ふふふ・・・じごくのそこで
 おぬしらのくるのを
 ゆっくり まつとしよう・・・」

This is what I understand of the script, with the parts I don't understand left untranslated:

[Gharnef]

「Guh.......
Starlight...
ぬかったわ...