Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

18 year old moving to Tokyo 2010/8/21 12:51
Hi, Im a 17 year old student at highschool and will be greaduating this year. I am half Japanese and half Italian and speak pretty good Japanese but not picture perfect as i have lived in an English speaking country most my life. However I have been to Tokyo many times to visit my family.
At first i was going to do one year of university at one of the best uni's in my area but i am starting to think it might be best to move to Tokyo because i love the city so much.
The only issue is that i will have to find a part time job to work around my unversity over there.
I am currently applying for a Japanese passport and should have it by the time i move over.
I have heard many stories about getting paid alot of money for teaching english in Japan but i dont have any qualifications.

If any one has any Ideas or suggestions of finding a part time job as a 17/18 year old student in Tokyo that would be great :) thank you!
by LIli (guest)  

Japan 2010/8/21 17:52
You don't really get much money teaching English, especially part-time, and at 18 years old and with no qualifications (majority of companies want a BA), your odds of getting a teaching job are very low. You could theoretically advertise in magazines like Metro and on free websites, but I doubt many people will want to learn from an 18 year old, since most private lesson language learners are people in their late 20s to early 30s looking for a relationship with a foreign person.

Your best bet is trying out Conbinis or Supermarkets. The pay is pathetic, but without qualifications it's probably the best you can get.