Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Student Visa to Working Visa 2010/8/28 01:39
I studied in Japan for almost 2 years for my graduate studies and I returned back here in Philippines last July. I currently hold an ARC and a student visa valid until Sept 9, 2010. Last week, I had an online interview with an employer in Japan but I am afraid that my visa status will be an issue since I don't have a working visa. My questions are:

1. Is it possible to enter Japan (I have a multiple entry permit) a few days before the expiration of my student visa then subsequently obtain a working visa from there in Japan? I am asking this option since this is the fastest way to start working with my prospective employer.

2. If option 1 above is not possible, what are the options left for me? Should I ask the employer for a Certificate of Eligibility? But I am afraid that this will be inconvenient for the employer since they prefer applicants who are already settled in Japan. In case they do provide a Certificate of Eligibility, how long will it take for me to obtain my working visa?

I really prefer option 1 if it's possible since I can relocate to Tokyo anytime at my own cost. But I want to make sure that there will be no problems at the immigration office and that I am doing it legally.

Thank you very much.
by Dahlia (guest)  

... 2010/8/28 08:45
Is it possible to enter Japan (I have a multiple entry permit) a few days before the expiration of my student visa then subsequently obtain a working visa from there in Japan?