Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Translation 2010/9/18 20:43
Could someone help me to translate below sentences from English to Japanese?

" asking for a snub"
" feel snubbed "
" bring contempt upon oneself"

Thank you.
by CK (guest)  

a beginner's attempt. 2010/9/19 17:17
please do not take this as 100% as i am a beginner. im not sure if your a beginner as well or more advanced or not, but i will write of the details as well.

im not sure about the word "snub", perhaps you can use a different wording?

for "to bring contempt upon self", i think it could go:

じぶんにぶじょくはもたらします。
jibun ni bujoku wa motarashimasu.
OR
じぶんにぶじょくはじさんに(しています)。
jibun ni bujoku wa jisan ni (shiteimasu)

------------------------------------------
i researched around and "motarasu" seems to be fitting, it means 'to bring about, to take'. As for "jisan", its a noun for "bring".

"shiteimasu" is the "masu" form of "shite+iru
", additionally, "shite" is the "te" form of "shi", which means "to do".

well considering theres always 'more then one path leads to the same destination', the sentences can be varied and isnt always fixed.
by AssassinWarrior rate this post as useful

re: 2010/9/19 17:28
oh sorry, i think a better term for "give" is "ageru"(あげる), but in this case, the receiver is oneself, so "kureru"(くれる) is used instead.

that being said, if the sentence is written in hiragana, it would be:

じぶんにぶじょくはくれるます。
jibun ni bujoku wa kurerimasu.

"jibun", means "oneself, (my/your)self, (him/her)self".

... 2010/9/19 17:51
To CK,

I think it would be easier for anyone to help if you provided the context instead of just the phrases.