Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

School Uniform 2010/9/28 22:08
Hi,
I have a question that may seem ridiculous, but I started to worry a bit.
I'm a high school student, and as I want to study languages, I'm planning to go study abroad for my last year of high school.

I already looked up a few programms both in Japan and America (the countries that interest me the most, though in different ways, and I now have to choose.

Language-wise, my English is a bit better than my Japanese, but I should be okay with both.
I already visited Japan for a while, and I like it here, but the one thing that concerns me is that in all the High School I found exchange programms, the students have to wear school uniforms.
I am a bit self-conscious, and I'm not sure I like the idea of wearing skirts all year round, but anyway I can get used to it.

When I was in Japan, I already got some curious stares when people hear me speaking Japanese with my friends, so I wonder,
What would people react if they see a gaijin in a japanese school uniform?

(I know I don't have to try to blend in with the japanese, because I'm obviously white, and blonde, but I would appreciate not looking too much like an alien, so maybe I should wait until I finish high school to go there again?)
by Butterflies (guest)  

Dont worry 2010/9/29 07:47
There is no need to worry your going to get those hey look there is a gaijin look etc whether your in uniform or not. I've done a student exchange to Japan and believe me your making a big deal out of nothing just relax.
by LB (guest) rate this post as useful

not a new thing 2010/9/29 07:49