Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

College in Japan as a Regular Student 2010/10/5 23:05
To begin with: The last guy who posted a similar question got the expected ''Hey, slow down, think'' response... I already understand thoroughly that this is a very huge life decision and as such I'm taking my sweet time to think about this. For those that need to know, yes I'm willing to abandon family and friends in the US for reason x, y, and z. (marriages, deaths, blah blah blah, can I please skip past this lecture I've read it 5 other times somewhere else). Thanks for your cooperation...

Currently I'm a high school exchange student in Japan... obviously attending high school. The only thing I need to graduate from my US high school is one year's worth of English which should be able to transfer (if not, its not the end of the world if I become a super senior... that extra year might happen anyways due to the different timings of Japanese and US school systems...). Moving along, as far as my Japanese goes, I started my exchange year last month with about a lower intermediate level of Japanese. It is my hope to be fluent by the end of the year, but if I'm not, I've been self-teaching myself for two year why would I quit now? As for Kanji... I love to study it anyways, so its just a matter of time, I'm pretty confident that I can pass the JLPT 4 (N5) a little less confident on the 3 (N4) doubtful in terms of 2.5 (N3) and above. Again can certainly change by the end of this year...(I've still got about the other 11 months of my exchange to go so there's a lot of time for improvement, way out here in Rokkasho, Aomori.)