Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Comments on my long term goals? 2010/10/22 08:08
Hi, it's my first time on this forum so I'd first like to take the opportunity to say hi to everyone here. There's an enormous base of info which I have found extremely helpful.

I'm a 17 year old secondary school student in Canada and am looking to study, work and eventually settle in Japan. I've been to the country twice for extended periods of time and do enjoy the environment; however, I'm not ignorant of the fact that Japan isn't doing so well economically and sociopolitically. After months of contemplation and taking such into consideration, I have made moving to Japan one of my life goals.

Education and job wise, I'm not sure how much of a chance I would stand in the Japanese job market and would like some insight into this from someone actually living there right now. I know Japanese companies prefer native employees (which is why I'm asking). If everything goes according to plan, I do hope to graduate from the University of Toronto with a bachelor's degree in Engineering Science specializing in economics and depending on where life takes me, an MBA at a Japanese (preferably Todai, but perhaps it's a long shot) or Canadian/American university. I am studying Japanese right now and am taking the N4 of the JLPT in December after a year of study, but I can also speak fluent Taiwanese and English (obviously) and decent French, Mandarin, and can understand and speak basic Cantonese. I hope to be able to pass the N1 by the end of university. My GPA is currently sitting at a 3.8.