Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Certification for teaching English 2010/10/25 02:27
Hello everyone,

I'm currently a third year university student in Canada. When I graduate, I would love to try teaching English in Japan. Right now, I am considering making some changes to my major.

For those of you who have experience with teaching English, what do you think is the best major / certification to have for this kind of position? What do employers love to see?

My school does offer TESL certification, so I guess that is an obvious one. I could also get a minor in Education.

I would really like to get some direction. Thanks in advance for your help!
by Kachiun  

unnecessary 2010/10/27 03:01
completely unnecessary in japan, if you're going to do it, do it for your own experience in helping you to teach others, but for practical purposes it will not make you any more of a competitive candidate with most english schools here.

schools here tend to look first at visa status, degree status (4 year degree), experience, age, japanese ability, then dead last whether you have an english teaching certificate.
by winterwolf rate this post as useful

Might be good 2010/10/27 12:47
I disagree completely with winterwolf. English teaching jobs in Japan are becoming extremely competitive, so anything you can show to prove that you are above other applicants is a plus! If your college offers a TEFL course, why shouldn't you take it?

Having the certification can help you to get experience in your country, which you can write on your application to Japan. If the certification course is in your university then it may even include experience within the course itself.

They WILL take notice if you have taken steps to distinguish yourself!
by Diana (guest) rate this post as useful

changing market 2010/10/27 14:49