Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Running away to Japan? 2010/11/2 08:24
Hello.
I'm pretty sure similar questions have been asked, and I've been thoroughly reading up on questions already answered - but I felt that I'd like to post something myself for answered geared specifically to my situation.
I will keep an open mind as well as any harsh criticism,if any; and I thank you for your time!
First off - I'm 21 years old. I am currently a community college student, general studies major. I don't know if they're bullshitting me, but I've been told my Japanese is very good.
I'd like to improve my Japanese to a more advanced level, for job situations in business or teaching, but I do communicate okay. I use Japanese everyday, sometimes I speak more Japanese than English with friends I have over there - none of which speak English.
What do I want to do exactly?
I want to save up money to cover my ticket, enough money to keep me solid for awhile; I want to pack as little as possible and hop on a flight over to Tokyo.
Once in Tokyo I would like to find a job. Since I have not finished school I'm not exactly 'qualified' in any way for certain jobs, but the kind of job I am looking for is a basic "part time" job that I'd be working full time - and better yet, one that I can use my ability to speak both Japanese and English to my benefit. I'm currently studying Mandarin Chinese in school; so maybe by the time I'm over there I'll have that under my wing too.
I'm not looking to get loaded, or even live 'comfortably'. My only desire is to go over to Japan and find a job that can be enough for me to pay for my rent and basic necessities. I'm alone, so a cheap semi apartment would be fine.
So yeah - enough money for ticket and for rent for awhile.