Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Jobs for foreigners in Japan 2010/11/15 14:07
Hello,

I am a Canadian university student, and I'm in my third year. Up to this point, I have been studying Education to become a teacher. I've had some practicums, and I have decided that teaching isn't for me. I'm in the process of changing my major, but I don't know exactly what to change it to.

For a long time, my dream has been to become an English language teacher in Japan (because I would really like to live in Japan). Being a teacher just seemed like the most obvious path to get me there.

My question is, besides teaching, what are some other careers that would allow a North American to live and work in Japan?

Thanks in advance for your responses!
by Kachiun  

Fluency in Japanese will help 2010/11/15 22:34
I'm an high school exchange student in Japan and as such don't have too much experience with job searching in Japan, but based on what I know about Japanese culture it will probably be in your best interest to become fluent in Japanese (Including the ability to write kanji... better if you can hand-write AND type decently, but typing only will probably be OK). If not, fluency may be mandatory... it really depends on your interests though.

In my case, I am planning to do something in the IT field and/or Electronic Engineering as an adult so... for that kind of job it is mandatory to be able to communicate with people properly so... probably a necessity.

However, if you're looking to do something like be a tour guide for English-Speaking tourists... you may be able to "Pass" with basic Japanese.